The Power of Communication and Technology

Fr.cyril

Father Cyril Axelrod is an inspiration to humanity.

He is the only recorded Deafblind Priest in history.

His life and faith in God is something that should be shared not only with the Deaf and Deafblind people around the world but with the hearing also. His story is a moving tribute to ‘triumph over adversity’.

However, what many do not realise it that his life story is only the beginning…

He may be Blind, but Fr. Cyril has a vision he wishes to share with the world.

He may be Deaf, but he has words that he desperately wishes to speak and for others to listen to and to work together with him to develop.

Father Cyril Axelrod has a vision of INCLUSIVE COMMUNITIES. Where able and disabled people work and learn from each other through a model of EDUCATIONAL EMPOWERMENT.

Fr. Cyril wishes to challenge the world to hear his call to EMPOWER and LEARN from disabled people. He truly believes disabled people and children are ‘Angels sent from God’ to help us all to learn valuable lessons of unconditional love, trust, hope, faith and inner peace.

However it is only through interacting and empowering these people and children to ‘shine their light on the world’ that we are able to learn these valuable life lessons, which sad to say is happening rarely at this present time.

Fr. Cyril sees his Deafblindness as a blessing and a powerful teaching tool to help others.

Unfortunately until this time only those who knew sign language or deafblind comunication methods have been able to personally access the wisdom of Fr. Cyril and hear what he has to say.

Due to the advances in technology in braille communication devises, Fr. Cyril is now able to use the internet, email and text message services.

It is hoped that through media services such as this blog, Fr. Cyril will be able to have access to anyone who wishes to communicate with him from anywhere in the world, and also a platform in which to share his profound insights and ideas with those that are interested.

It is my hope and prayer that the rest of the world has the honor of knowing and experiencing the profound faith and wisdom that can only come from such a person as Fr. Cyril Axelrod – a true Saint of the 21st century.

Please feel free to leave comments for Fr. Cyril to read and your email address if you wish him to respond.

With much love and blessings

Majella Williams (volunteer personal assistant to Fr. Cyril Axelrod)

Published in: on July 26, 2009 at 3:33 pm  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cyrilaxelrod.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/the-power-of-communication-and-technology/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hello from Ireland Fr Cyril. I have just finished reading your autobiography and as a person with a visual impairment I found your story very inspirational. I remember an adult telling me as a child that “God doesn’t make mistakes” in relation to my eyesight. Your life of service powerfully demonstrates this. I am also discerning my own vocation at present and found your story very encouraging.
    Thank you, and God bless.

  2. Good Morning,

    My name is Fr. Jeremy St. Martin. My parents and I are visiting England from Friday to Monday for the Beatification of John Henry Newman. We would like to meet the Deaf Catholic Community and have been told we can sit with you all at the Beatification on Sunday.

    Can you help us on our journey?

    In Christ,

    Fr. St. Martin

  3. I met Father Axelrod at a national United Methodist Deaf Congress Retreat in Texas about 7 or 8 years ago. He changed my life! His most memorable point of his sermon was ” I wish you could see how beautiful God is like I do.” As a Black Woman with a deaf ministry learning 5 languages and trying my hand at Chinese Sign Language, He chuckled and insructed me to learn to speak and writ the Mandarin language before signing it. I made him a yarmulke that Friday at dinner and he laughed. I followed his advise and now am learning chinese, spanish, vietnamese, korean,and will begin hebrew in the spring. I am making beautiful Multi-cultural friends in the ministry and my community now. I really love Father’s loving care, instruction and hand massages. I hope to meet the man that influenced my life is such a wonderful way and

  4. Fr Cyril, I have just finished reading your autobiography. What an inspiration! I was truly challenged about the times when I complain about my lot in life. You have vision for life & pursue it. I just give up all too easily. As a nurse in South Africa I often dream of what I’d like to see happen but at the first snub tend to give up pursuing my dreams. Thank for inspiring me to continue trying.

  5. May the Lord bless you and keep you, and make His face to shine upon you, and give you peace (Num 6). Thank you for being a blessing.

  6. You all going to WYD?

  7. You all going t WYD?

  8. Father Cyril, deep respect from Ukraine!

  9. hello I want to say that I really liked your article and I could really identify with what is expressed
    now I have a better idea about this, thank you very much

  10. Dear Father Cyril,
    I am the Editor in Chief of GoldenRoom Online Journal for Cross Cultural Relations, http://www.goldenroom.co.uk and I am pleased to inform you that this month you have been selected as the GoldenRoom ICON, because of fascinating personal and vocational journey across faiths and cultures, your contribution to communication, and of course your service to the deaf and the deafblind, which is indeed an act of love for all humanity.
    Kind Regards,
    Dr. W.J.Tuinstra
    Editor in Chief
    GoldenRoom
    Online Journal for Cross Cultural Relations
    http://www.goldenroom.co.uk

  11. I must say something about Father Cyril. I have known him most of my life, as he is a close family friend. He is certainly someone worth looking up to. HE was the one who inspired me to be the person I am today. HE was the one who always made me smile and laugh. I will start reading his autobiography soon, too! Also, my father is deafblind as well, and has the Usher’s Symodore, the same disability (though I don’t view it as a disability, but as a blessing from God, as the deafblind sees the world in a whole different light) as Father Cyril has. He is truly the inspirational person that the world should listen to his wise advises. Father Cyril, personally to you, I hope that you are well and I hope I will be able to see you again soon! God bless.

  12. Good evening, my son was part of a class which you spoke to at St Kierans Catholic Primary School today. He came home and shared your story with me (his mother). It seems you had quite an impact on him and he was very moved by your story. Thank you very much for sharing and for helping both of us see how blessed we are to have people like you in our world. May God bless you. For it is people like you who make us want to be better people. Kind regards

  13. wow this is so inspire. we need to spend more word to the world about this wonderful inspiration story of Fr Cyril. Thanks so much God bless you.

  14. Father Cyril – You recently visited us at St James the Greater Church in Oklahoma City, and I wanted to tell you how inspirational you were to my wife and I. My wife was raised by her parents who both suffered from mental retardation and your message of hope was so uplifting. I wanted to know what your reaction was to the extremely sad news from Belgium, where in early January, two 45-year old twins who were born deaf and becoming blind, decided to commit assisted suicide. I was so saddened by this and my first thought was “I wish Father Cyril had an opportunity to speak to them” prior to them making this horrible decision. Father, my wife and I have read your biography as well, and just wanted to wish you the best on your incredible journey! respectfully, Richard S.

  15. Thank you dear Father, your life is an inspiration. Sometimes I complain because of little problems, but when I meet people like you I get ashamed and I ask God’s forgiveness. Sorry, my English it’s not good, but it isn’t my native language. God bless you.

  16. How is Father Axelrod? I remember his wonderful sermon in Texas at the united methodist Deaf Congress. He gave me pointers on my Chinese signing,

  17. Shalom

    My name is Michael-John where I am from South Africa. I certainly enjoyed reading Father Axelrod’s autobraphy, The journey begins…wonderful book and inspiring indeed. I am just wondering whether he is still active in his work as I would like to gain more information in getting involved. I also suffer from Ushers Syndrome, Type II where I am currently hard of hearing and visually impaired. Although I hold a full-time temporary job, I do qualify as an ordained pastor in which I’ve completed last year. At the moment I am doing a lot of research of what is happening among the deaf during the past 6 months as I’v lost touch with the deaf community for the last 20 years. Is there a contact here in South Africa where I can chat to see someone in Cape Town? Thanks for your time, MJ

  18. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation however
    I find this topic to be really one thing which
    I feel I might by no means understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I am having a look ahead in your next put up, I will attempt to get the hang of it!


Leave a Reply

